Hover over numbers to reveal details of each point of interest
Dolan Center Launch, 269 Common Street
- Town of Dedham's public canoe and kayak launch connects to the walking trails at Whitcomb Woods and Wilson Mountain.
Noble & Greenough School
- The Castle was built as a private residence for Albert Nickerson in 1890, and was used later by the school. Nobles is a private school founded in 1866. The school moved to Dedham in 1922. Noble & Greenough has an active crew team and has long been a good steward to the river.
Bridge Street Pass
- Site of the first cart bridge erected over the Charles River in 1644.
Town Landing Launch
- 2) Originally called Bullard's Landing Place, Town Landing is a short walk from Dedham Square, where you can explore a vital and thriving downtown, full of great shops and restaurants with casual dining. Walkable and charming, a visit to Dedham Square by canoe or kayak is a unique feature of the water trail, one not to be missed!
- Powder House was built in 1766 and stored military supplies through the period of the American Revolution.
Dedham Boat Club
- This was the former site of the Dedham Boat Club, which existed from 1874 until 1934.
- This was the landing place of the first settlers of the Dedham Plantation in 1636
Mother Brook Launch
- Created in 1639, Mother Brook, also known as Mill Creek, is believed to be the first man-made canal in the United States and the course for the first water driven, broad powered loom in the world. It was used as a swimming beach from the late 1800s to the 1940s. WARNING: Use caution around the dam.
Moseley's on the Charles
- Built in 1905, one of the oldest surviving dance halls in the country where boaters would anchor in the evenings and listen to live music.
Old Irish Alehouse
- The original building as it stands today was home to three different canoe clubs throughout the early to mid-1900s. This restaurant has been serving local patrons for over 100 years.
Marie Louise Kehoe Park (Riverdale Park)
- A recreational hub of the river in the early 1900s, Riverdale had several boathouses, canoe clubs, liveries for canoe rentals and a carousel with a steam organ known as a calliope. Until World War II, hundreds of spectators would line the river to watch weekend boating competitions between area boat clubs.
- This beach was a popular spot for summer fun close to a half century ago. The original boathouse, now owned by DCR has been renovated for use.
Long Ditch Mouth
- Long Ditch was dug in 1653 by early Dedham settlers to allow greater cultivation of hay. The water flow from the ditch resulted in a natural peninsula, creating Dedham Island (Riverdale). The ditch helps to alleviate flooding and improves meadow grasslands.
- Use caution, portage may be necessary at low water levels.
Needham Street Launch
- This public launch connects the Dedham's conservation land with walking trails located at Newton's Cutler Park and Dedham's Pine Island Reserve.
NewBridge on the Charles
- Site of future tie-up on the NewBridge campus with connection to two miles of public walking trails.
- Legacy Place offers the best shopping, dining and entertainment experience in the region. The center features a unique blend of retailers, including Whole Foods Market, L.L.Bean, Kings, and Showcase Cinema de Lux. Legacy Place also hosts an exceptional lineup of restaurants.